Skip to content
February 10, 2012 / joelmalm

Giving CPR to a Duck


I had a duck that drowned.  It was really sad.  I walked out to his pond and he was floating upside down, his webbed feet sticking straight up in the air.  I tried to resuscitate the poor guy.  Water squirted out his nostrils as I used my thumbs to pump his chest – but it was too late.  I decided mouth-to-beak was out of the question.

I learned a valuable lesson that day:  Ducks can drown.

When I hear stories of Christians whose lives have been ruined by moral failure or excess I often think of that little quacker.  No matter how comfortable or in control you may feel in the water – you can still drown.  Even if you seem uniquely suited for something (like a duck for water) you can end up in over your head.

You can drown in work and neglect your family.  You can drown in alcohol or drugs.  You can drown in fun and entertainment.  Pastors can drown in the very sin they preach against.  No one is immune.  Make sure you stay on your guard and keep the shore in view at all times.  If you get too cocky you might just end up sucking face with a duck that’s trying to save your poor life.

So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! (1 Cor. 10:12)

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bonita / Feb 10 2012 10:07 am

    Another great post. Keep them coming. They are needed reminders to us all.

  2. kassc / Feb 10 2012 12:39 pm

    Well said Joel, it’s so true. Your dad told me recently a story recently that touched on that. He said when a person goes into a movie theater at first it’s really dark, but after awhile in the darkness their eyes start to adjust and they are then able to see. Sometimes people stay in the dark and it becomes their light so to speak. I always pray that I won’t be deceived because I know that I can’t even know my own heart and I am fallible. If I don’t spend time with HIM it seems it’s easier to slip up..anyway, great post!

  3. Judy / Feb 10 2012 6:44 pm

    We need to remember that Sin needs a host to stay alive. And when sin overpowers a human host, it works to destroy it as long as the host is alive. But Jesus by HIS own atoning blood made us whole and pure.
    Thank you for the post on the duck

  4. worship2012 / Feb 10 2012 10:48 pm

    Amen Bro!!!! Amazing Analogy! Very True….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

