Skip to content
January 13, 2009 / joelmalm

The Final Countdown

The countdown has begun as we get closer and closer to our moving date.  In just 12 days we will be leaving our home in Mexico and heading to the U.S. for a few days before we catch our flights south.  I always hear people talking about “short-timers sickness”; that feeling of apathy mixed with a new found intolerance for the way things are in the place you are leaving.  Well, I have reached that point here.  At this point I want to take a baseball bat into the bar across the street and just start swinging it at any piece of sound equipment I can find – I am sick of sleepless nights spent listening to the low end rumble of bass pumping out of a huge speaker to please the likes of 3 people that are still in the bar after 3am.  I can’t tell you how many times I have resorted to every imprecatory prayer I can think of.  “Arise, O LORD! Deliver me, O my God! Strike all my enemies on the jaw; break the teeth of the wicked.” (Psalm 3:7)  Their destruction is coming soon, I just can’t help wishing tonight would be the night so I could get some rest.  Yes, it’s wrong – but it would be nice.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. wes / Jan 14 2009 3:58 am

    Dude, you are something else. 🙂

  2. Kass / Jan 14 2009 4:21 am

    OMGosh…. I laughed so hard.. you are too funny.

  3. Jed Benoit / Jan 14 2009 10:47 pm

    yeah, that was pretty funny…

  4. Ken / Jan 20 2009 1:16 pm

    I understand where your coming from, I grew up down the street from a Tejano Bar on the South Side of San Antonio. I obviously hated it as much as you. But look on the bright side. I ugh well no bright side I guess. Does the bible say anything about sabatoge ?

Leave a Reply

