Skip to content
January 14, 2009 / joelmalm

Time for revolution

500pesosToday I discovered that I had been given a counterfeit 500 peso bill.  I am pretty sure a pastor gave it to me (not sure whether it was intentional).  In the grand scheme of things losing $38 isn’t that big of a deal but I was upset.  Corruption is rampant in this country.  Then shortly after that I read the following headline:

U.S. military report warns ‘sudden collapse’ of Mexico is possible. Mexico is one of two countries that “bear consideration for a rapid and sudden collapse,” according to a report by the U.S. Joint Forces Command on worldwide security threats.”

My first thought was – they need a collapse and then a revolution on top of that.  But I realized they already had a revolution, just like most of the other Latin American countries but they are still up to their necks in wicked corruption.  Why?  Because the revolutionaries started using their power for their own personal gain.  Total depravity of man – that’s the theological term for it.  Don’t ever let anyone tell you the lie that humanity is good – it is wicked.   So, as always, the answer is spiritual.  Mexico does need a revolution – but it is going to have to be a Christ-centered spiritual one, otherwise no revolution will change the root of the problem – our depravity.  Now that I have the fake 500 I think I will use it to bribe the next police officer that pulls me over for no reason other than he wants a “mordida.”

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kelli / Jan 15 2009 5:01 am

    Joel,
    I’m so sorry about the fake money, but great to see you blogging! Woo hoo! I’ll be back often.
    -Kelli

  2. Ken / Jan 18 2009 3:46 am

    Jesus said it best. “Give unto Ceasar that which is Ceasar’s”.
    A quick comment on your statement re: the collapse of the Mexican Gov. We have not heard of such things here. Is there a rebellion brewing among the masses, or with the military?
    Also, when you said that “don’t let any one tell you that humanity is good” would that include John Lennon’s Song “Imagine”. I personnaly detest that song. It spits in the face of the grace of God.

Leave a Reply

