Skip to content
May 9, 2009 / joelmalm

I got hit by a car today

Nearly identical version of the taxi that hit me (minus the dents I placed in the hood)

Nearly identical version of the taxi that hit me (minus the dents I placed in the hood)

Today a taxi ran into me.  I was crossing a street (legally, no jaywalking here, I am a Christian) and a little yellow taxi hit me (sorry Joni Mitchell fans, it was small).  In general, Peruvian taxi conductors drive like bats out of hell, I knew it would happen one day so I have been storing up my wrath.  He hit me about knee level.  I turned around and limped back to the taxi (mostly for dramatic effect).

I am ashamed to admit it, but I began wishing him Mother’s Day greetings and exploded into vituperative exasperation as I pounded my fists on his hood.  As I pounded he looked at me with a blank stare.  So I pounded harder, by now I was drawing quite a bit of attention on the busy street.  At that point James 1:20 popped into my head:  “the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God.”  I stopped for a moment and the taxi started driving away so I pounded on his roof.  There’s a lesson on human nature in there that I’ll leave for you to process (that’s the existential way right, interpret it how you want).  But just so you know I am not a violent person, really, but I don’t like getting hit by taxis.

On a side note, I am recovering well.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Barbara E / May 10 2009 12:58 am

    #1. Hope you recover quickly.
    #2. Hahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahah ahahaha hahahahahahah ahahahahaha that’s absolutely hilarious and I wish I could have seen the whole thing!
    #3. I’m really glad you quoted that verse because I’ve been unsuccessfully trying to find it for months and had finally decided it was a figment of my imagination. It kept coming to my mind frequently about a week before I lost my temper and ended a relationship perhaps a bit prematurely. oops.

  2. Meredith / May 10 2009 1:11 am

    wow, i’m so glad you’re ok. i’m also glad the driver is ok, cause i’ve seen the wrath of joel agains central/south american drivers. not pretty. 🙂

  3. Amaris / May 12 2009 12:06 am

    glad you’re not hut badly… 🙂
    that’s crazy though…

    miss ya,
    -am-

  4. Bec / May 13 2009 11:49 pm

    HAHAHA sorry but had a good laugh…sorry you got hit by a taxi though! 😦

  5. Duane Rod / May 28 2009 12:20 am

    I have found that temper and the tongue are probably the hardest things to control. And now the “wrath of Joel” has proven my theory on both points!!!!! Hee Hee. Heal quickly by friend!

Leave a Reply

