Skip to content
October 13, 2009 / joelmalm

Perma-bruise

I have a perma-bruise on my head.  It started when I moved to Cusco and has never managed to heal.  I regularly crack my cranium on the small doorways here.  The average height of most folks in these parts is about 5’6”.  I am sure they never consider the possibility that one day some clumsy 6’1” gringo could cast his shadow over their threshold.  I don’t really blame them though.  After all, leaving off a few extra rows of bricks is cheaper, easier and more convenient.

While popping a Tylenol to quell the pain of my most recent doorframe run-in I began to ponder.  How often do I short-circuit the legacy I am building by taking the easy or convenient way out?  How often do I cut off conversations a little too early because it’s more convenient for me and then sit back and watch the person bruise their head against the wall?  How often do I fail to give financially to God’s kingdom because it’s cheaper?  How often do I…oh, sorry I’m pontificating – I think it’s the brain damage.

My parents ducking into a small door.  I am taking the picture, I was afraid to go in.

My parents ducking into a small door. I am taking the picture, I was afraid to go in.

Leave a Reply

