Skip to content
November 4, 2010 / joelmalm

You don’t know what you don’t know

Q: What do the following all have in common?

  1. The Schrodinger Equation
  2. Regression Fallacy
  3. πλανήτης
  4. The Pareto Principle

A: Nothing, except that I looked up all those things on Google yesterday.

Up until yesterday I never knew those things existed.  It’s really kind of overwhelming when you realize you don’t know what you don’t know.  The crazy thing is – God knows all the above.

The universe is infinitely complex and God made it.  He made the principles that lead to the processes we have only begun to understand.  Quantum mechanics, black holes, linguistics and bird migrations – he made it all and knows everything about it.

It blows my mind that we can even understand anything about him.  The infinitely complex God of the universe came and made it simple for us using phrases like this:

Follow me. (Matt 4:19)

So as much as my lust for knowledge drives me, I have to realize that I will never even scratch the surface of all that can be known.  I can let it frustrate me or I can focus on the simple command, “Follow me.”  That in itself seems hard enough.

Leave a Reply

