Skip to content
November 8, 2010 / joelmalm

Jesus and Steve Jobs: The Package Deal

The only heated thing in the salt-block hut I was staying in 15,000ft above sea level in a Bolivian desert was the conversation.  Out of nowhere I found myself smack in the middle of an unexpected defense of my faith.  “Here’s my problem with Christianity – women are told to submit to men.  I can’t handle a man telling me what to do, this is the year 2010 for goodness sake!”  My mind was racing – how do I respond to that one?

“Here’s the deal,” I responded.  Christianity is a package deal.  “Yes the wife is called to submit to the husband, but nobody ever reads the next line, ‘Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her…’  That’s a serious call to respect for the husband.  It’s a closed system – you either take it all or nothing or it doesn’t work the way it’s supposed to.’

If you have followed the holy mandate to not be unequally yoked with non-believers then you will have a husband who is following the Lord as well and it works.  But you have to have submitted yourself to the entire package.

I recently bought a MAC and I can’t stand the thing.  Everything is connected.  It’s all integrated so that your only option is to use MAC certified stuff.  It all has to run through iPhoto, iTunes, iMovie, iLife – you iName it.  With my PC I could download a hodge-podge of programs that all sat on the hard drive and worked fairly well.  They would act up from time to time, but hey, it was cheaper than a MAC and the programs were free.

MACs are way more expensive, but I’ll give them one thing – no viruses.  They always work and there is no danger of my computer ever being corrupted by a vicious virus.  Know why?  It’s a closed system and only things that have received Steve Jobs’ seal of approval work in the system.

Application: Christianity only really works when you accept the package deal.  If you are picking and choosing what part of Jesus’ teachings you follow there is a good chance your Christianity will be corrupted.  Result: frustration.  If you are downloading stuff from anywhere that is giving it out for free there’s a good chance you’ll get a virus.  You will be open to attack from all the messed up programs you’ve allowed into your system.

So here’s the kicker.  Christianity has to be accepted hook, line and sinker for it to truly transform your life.  It’s not cheap; it comes at a cost.   The cost: submission to the entire package.  Jesus and Steve Jobs know what’s up… If you want a perfect system you can’t be open to anything but the real deal.

G.K. Chesterton said it best, ““The Christian ideal has not been tried and found wanting. It has been found difficult and left untried.”  When I have problems with my MAC I am always told, “It’s user error Joél.”  Apparently, the system isn’t the problem – I am.  Selah.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. tammie / Nov 8 2010 4:40 pm

    Thanks, Joel.

    The whole kit and kaboodle is what we have signed up for. We tend to think that abandoned Christianity is too hard, but it is even harder when we try to keep a foot in both worlds.

    Kind of like being married and trying to keep dating at the same time. Or eating healthy and having Whataburger for lunch every day. Or…

    From a person who uses PC at home and a Mac at work–I appreciated the analogy!

Leave a Reply

