Skip to content
November 9, 2010 / joelmalm

Wheelchairs and Donkeys

The light is green! Why am I still sitting behind this giant blue truck?  The fruit of the spirit swelled within me as I patiently waited for three seconds, then – I pounded on the horn.  The moment the resound of my audible ire came to an end I saw him.  A gray-haired old man in a wheelchair came into view around the blue truck in front of me.  He struggled to get through the crosswalk and roll onto the sidewalk as quickly as possible.

I felt the redness in my face.  Yes, Joel Malm is a jerk.  I should have known there was a good reason for that truck not moving.

I never quite seem to learn.  It’s a lot easier to act like a Christian than to re-act  like one isn’t it?  Dad always says, “Go into every challenging situation like a cat – careful and observant.  You don’t know all the details.  You can always turn into a lion later if you need to.”  I can never seem to tame the lion of assumption that is crouching within me.  Unfortunately, as the old adage goes, my assuming the worst about people always tends to make me rather donkey-esque.  When will I learn?!

Ephesians 5:1-2
Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.
1 Corinthians 13:4-7
Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Leave a Reply

