Skip to content
November 26, 2010 / joelmalm

Vigilance

I am 6’1″ tall, but most of the time I measure in at about 5’10”.  The reason: I don’t stand up straight.  I get lazy and start to slouch.  I find slouching the most comfortable position for me.  It’s less work on my back muscles.  The security guy at the airport pointed it out the other day.  Standing with my hands in the air for my full-body scan the agent said, “You don’t have to crouch down. You can stand up straight.”  It reminded me of just how bad my slouching is.

Keeping good posture requires constant vigilance.  That’s probably why I am slouching most of the time – it’s less work.  It’s pretty easy to slouch spiritually too.  Solomon warned, “Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.” (Proverbs 4:23) It’s easy to get lazy and stop keeping guard because it requires less labor.

I have little post-it notes all over the house that say “posture”.  It’s the best way to remind me to stand up straight.  Today I decided I am going to add another line on the post-it note to remind me to not only stand up straight, but also to walk straight.  I have to constantly be on guard against things that will distract me.  Can you relate?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Justin / Dec 13 2010 1:18 pm

    I can relate

Leave a Reply

