Skip to content
December 2, 2010 / joelmalm

Don’t tell my wife I wrote this

For months my wife Emily has been tucking away any extra money she gets toward a shopping spree fund.  We have a joint account (which I believe is something every married couple should share) and basic needs stuff comes from that account.  Apart from that she has a small savings account for money she can use for anything her little heart desires without checking with me.

Today she came to me and said she was going to give half the money she had saved away to a missionary friend of ours.  My wife has been saving hard so this is a significant amount of money.  She told me, “I feel like I am thinking too much about that money and what I can buy with it.  So I am going to give it away.”

At that moment I hear the sound of Taps being played somberly in the distance, as materialism dies another brutal death at the Malm home.  (I say another death because fighting materialism is a constant battle. Materialism and generosity can’t coexist.  When one thrives the other dies.)

Proverbs 31 describes my wife.  One particular line from that chapter sticks out to me, “out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.”  I am so thankful to have a wife who understands the value of planting seeds that produce sweet fruit.  The cool thing is, since what’s hers is mine, I get to cash in on the blessings that my wife is calling down from heaven by her generosity.

Ah, the joys and benefits of having a godly wife…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Terri McComb / Dec 2 2010 1:27 pm

    That’s awesome!! You married a wonderful woman, indeed! I don’t think I could be as good as her!

  2. Kassie / Dec 11 2010 6:33 pm

    That’s awesome…you really are blessed and have an extraordinary wife.

Leave a Reply

