Skip to content
December 6, 2010 / joelmalm

Farmer Joel

A few days ago I watched a man pull up behind the church, look around quickly to make sure no one was watching, and then proceed to dump all the junk in the bed of his truck there.

I don’t know the man, but I would imagine he has a fairly rough life.  Why?  Because no one is exempt from the law of the farm.

“Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.” (Galatians 6:7)

Last night my dad spoke one of the best messages I have ever heard.  He shared that many of the people that seem to go from crisis to crisis in their life are actually attracting those problems –like someone trying to drive off moths by using a brightly lit flashlight.  They simply don’t realize that their actions have repercussions.  He wasn’t preaching pop psychology (all though he is my pop) or The Secret law of attraction.  This came from the source of all truth: the Bible.

The universe operates by principles.  There are physical principles; what goes up, must come down.  And there are spiritual principles; a man gets a harvest of what he plants.  God set it up that way so there is some consistency we can base our lives on.

Every choice you make sets off a chain of events in the universe.  I don’t know exactly how God works it all out.  There are certain struggles that simply happen through no fault of your own and you can’t get around them.  But there are others, I would venture to say the majority, that are a direct result of my bad choices.  After all, I am the common denominator in every problem I face….

Every principle has a positive and a negative side.  You plant good fruit, you get a good harvest.  Last night I sat down to evaluate the areas of my life in which I haven’t been allowing the principles to work for me.  Some changes are ahead.

Leave a Reply

