Skip to content
December 13, 2010 / joelmalm

I came to America and guess who I met

I believe God brought me to America to know Him.”

Those were the words of a young man from China who was baptized at our church last night.  He is returning to China this week and will announce his conversion.

Here’s what inspired me:

1. Just before being baptized he declared, “I will serve God until the day I die.”  That’s a quaint statement when you say it in the U.S.  It conjures up images of a little old man sitting on his rocking chair, reading his Bible until one day he gently passes to be with the Lord in the night.  It’s peaceful.

I can’t help but believe this is not the picture this young man had in his mind though.  Based on current trends in China there is not an easy path waiting for him back home.  To commit to Christ is a dangerous thing in China. Secret church meetings, clandestine evangelism – it’s not easy.   It means persecution and threats from family and friends.  It’s serious business.  Committing to Christ means you must count the cost.  He and all his fellow believers need prayer for boldness. (Acts 4:31)

2.  What an understanding of God’s sovereignty.  It blows my mind when I consider the path the Lord prepares for those who seek Him.  Whether you are a raging Calvinist or a dogmatic Arminian you can’t argue with John 6:44, “No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them…”

This young man had no clue who was waiting for Him in America.  But God did and He arranged this meeting.  I don’t know his entire story, but I am certain he would share a series of divine events that led up to the moment that his eternal destiny was changed forever.

Thank God for the political freedom you have today.  Then keep that prayer going by thanking him for drawing you to Himself.  He was seeking you out before you ever wanted anything to do with Him.  That’s what Christmas is all about – God came to us.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joanna / Dec 13 2010 1:52 pm

    Joel! I have really enjoyed reading your posts…thank you for your insights and willingness to share. I have been challenged and encouraged!

    • joelmalm / Dec 13 2010 2:16 pm

      Thanks Joanna!

Leave a Reply

