Skip to content
January 14, 2011 / joelmalm

Lessons from a Cat Funeral

I pounded down the rich black earth that lay over what I had dug as the final resting place for my grandmother’s cat.  Standing there with my nose freezing, grasping a cold metal shovel handle this thought flashed through my head:

They’ll do this to you one day.  The hole will be bigger and hopefully so will the crowd, but you’ll end up the same place.

It is better to go to a house of mourning
than to go to a house of feasting,
for death is the destiny of every man;
the living should take this to heart.

Ecclesiastes 7:2

Life is deteriorating.  Hair is thinning.  Memory is weakening.  Strength is harder and harder to maintain.  I see the world changing, but I cling to a false construct that tells me I can hold on to what is.

Why do I hold so tightly to things I know can’t stay the same?

Harder still: How do I keep my chin up when I see that everything is going down?

The words of Ye Olde Heidelberg Cat-echism ring in my head:

Q: What is my only comfort in life and in death?

A: That I with body and soul, both in life and death, (a) am not my own, (b) but belong unto my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ; (c) who, with his precious blood, has fully satisfied for all my sins, (d) and delivered me from all the power of the devil; (e) and so preserves me (f) that without the will of my heavenly Father, not a hair can fall from my head; (g) yea, that all things must be subservient to my salvation, (h) and therefore, by his Holy Spirit, He also assures me of eternal life, (i) and makes me sincerely willing and ready, henceforth, to live unto him. (j)

Make it count while you are still “meow-ing” !

(a) Rom.14:7. (b) 1 Cor.6:19, (c) 1 Cor.3:23, (d) 1 Pet.1:18, (e) Heb.2:14, (f) John 6:39, (g) Matt.10:29, (h) Rom.8:28, (i) 2 Cor.1:20, (j) Rom.8:14

Leave a Reply

