Skip to content
January 26, 2011 / joelmalm

Make Mr. Newton Proud


“An object at rest tends to stay at rest and an object in motion tends to stay in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force.”

That’s Newton’s First Law of Motion.  I think it’s more than just a law of physics; it’s also a spiritual law.

If you want God to use you – get into motion.  Start serving.

Far too many people sit around “waiting on the Lord.”  There is a time and place for waiting, but God tends to use those in motion.  It requires a lot less energy to redirect an object that’s moving.

Remember potential vs. kinetic energy from high school science class?  Potential energy is unused.

Ever heard this line?  “My son is a great kid, he has tons of potential.”

Translation: My son is a bum who is going nowhere with his life.

Kinetic energy means there’s action.

When you start serving, in any area, you are exercising kinetic faith.  You are saying, “I want to be used by God, so I am going to get the ball rolling doing whatever I can.”

Trust God to direct you in the specifics.  In the meantime, you just get moving by serving.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Stacy Johnson / Feb 2 2011 2:36 pm

    Thank you for this blog. I just sent it out to our children’s ministry parents.

Leave a comment