Skip to content
January 28, 2011 / joelmalm

Celebrate Mediocrity

“The art of using moderate abilities to advantage often brings greater results than actual brilliance.”
-Francois de la Rouchefoucald

As a person who is mediocre at most everything I do I regularly cling to the words above.  I can’t sing that well, but I lead worship.  I can’t speak French that well, but I always try to find people I can converse with in French.  Sure I look like a fool, but hey, at least I am doing something.

Some of the most influential people I know don’t consider themselves to be very talented; they’ve simply leveraged their moderate abilities and have seen God multiply what they have in amazing ways.

I met Chris Tomlin once.  I asked him how he had gotten where he was.  He told me, “Man, I don’t know how all this happened.  I was actually standing back stage just before this concert asking God, ‘How did I get here?’”  Obviously Chris Tomlin doesn’t think he is some amazing musician.  In fact, like all of us, he surely has times of feeling insecure and inadequate.  But at some point he decided he was going to be who he was and God turned it into great things.

From your perspective, using whatever abilities you have may not seem like it could take you anywhere special.  But don’t forget The God Factor.  He’s the one who can turn whatever he pleases into something amazing.  Your job:  To be faithful with what he’s given you!

“Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might…

The race is not to the swift
or the battle to the strong,
nor does food come to the wise
or wealth to the brilliant
or favor to the learned…

Ecclesiastes 9:10-12

Leave a Reply

