Skip to content
February 15, 2011 / joelmalm

Doubts at the Vegetable Aisle

Yesterday instead of blogging I sat around doubting.  You know, the serious kind of doubt: Am I doing anything significant with my life?  Am I really making any kind of a difference?  What on earth am I really doing with my life?

I’m sure you’ve been there.

Although it’s probably good to periodically ask those questions, doing it too much can be debilitating.  Around noon I started calming down as I walked the aisles of the grocery store.  Something about colorful vegetables has a soothing effect on me.

Seeing the vegetables got me thinking about a book I just read. Me, Myself and Bob by Phil Vischer.  He’s the guy that created VeggieTales.  Basically, he built this huge organization and unintentionally drove it into the ground.  In the aftermath of what seemed like epic failure Phil came to this realization about his walk with God.

The Christian life isn’t about running like a maniac; it’s about walking with God.  It isn’t about impact; it is about obedience.  It isn’t about making stuff up; it is about listening.

Ephesians 2:8-10 backs up the above quote.  Walking in obedience to what God has prepared for you to do is the most important thing, no matter how small of a thing that may seem to be.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jonathan Malm / Feb 10 2011 11:00 am

    Ya…when I question my worth too much I just get so self focused. It’s a tough balance of knowing your place without becoming morbid.

Leave a Reply

