Skip to content
February 16, 2011 / joelmalm

Fighting the Frühjahrsmüdigkeit

Frühjahrsmüdigkeit:  That’s what Germans call the irritable, anxious and tired feeling I get about this time every year.  I always have to remind myself that is what’s happening to me because otherwise I get really frustrated and depressed.

This winter has been particularly crummy across the country, so I imagine quite a few people are feeling the same thing.  Yesterday a very stable friend of mine told me he was feeling it.  He’s not the type to be swayed by his emotions.  My prediction was that all this relentless dreary weather had done him in.  You have to be alert or that ugly German word up there will sneak up on you and you’ll think you are losing your mind.

Here are some tips to fight off Frühjahrsmüdigkeit:

1. Get some sun.  Serotonin, often called the happiness hormone, is produced by exposure to daylight.  So get out there and stick your face in the sun.  You’ve been looking a little pale anyway.

2. Get away.  I have learned that I always need a vision booster every six months or so.  I plan to get out of Dodge twice per year.  That always gives me and Emily something to look forward to.  Build some moments to anticipate into your annual schedule.  Spring Break is coming up – plan a cool trip to a sunny place.

Note: Depression is often rooted in spiritual problems, but there are times that it’s chemical.  You live in a physical body and not everything can be defined in spiritual terms.  If you can’t seem to get past your depression it may be a chemical imbalance.  In which case, the most spiritual thing you can do is go to a doctor and get some happy drugs so you can get back to serving God with all you’ve got.

Article by Joel Malm M.D. ABMS

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. foresightyourctpsychic / Feb 16 2011 9:23 am

    There’s actually a word for it? Amazing!

    Catherine
    Foresight

    • joelmalm / Feb 16 2011 10:32 am

      Ya, those Germans really have a way with words!

  2. Jonathan Malm / Feb 16 2011 9:55 am

    True that. Miami, here I come, in a month.

    –Jonathan Malm, I.B.S.

  3. Joy L Felix / Feb 17 2011 12:26 am

    Haha – yeah. Feeling it. Trying desperately to stay focused on here and now and making it through the winter and trying not to think too much of going to Thailand in a few weeks!

  4. Kassie / Feb 17 2011 10:19 pm

    Today I sat in the Sun and watched the kids play and all I got was more freckles….hehe

Leave a Reply

