Skip to content
March 28, 2011 / joelmalm

Lessons from the War of Art

It’s been about a month since my last blog.  I needed a break.  The video below shows what I’ve been up to.

On the break I learned a lot.  One of the most important things came from a book called The War of Art.  It’s about overcoming “resistance” to your desire to create something of value.  We all face it when it comes to doing anything of significance. It manifests in many different ways: 

Feel called to paint? “Yes, but where did I store those brushes and canvas?” 

Want to write? “I do, but it’s been busy at work, I’ll wait until things slow down.”

Quieres aprender español? “Si señor, maybe I’ll register for classes next semester.”

In the meantime, we watch TV.

Most of the stuff of any value that we accomplish doesn’t come from inspiration, it happens when we show up day after day and do the work.

I feel called to write.  Hopefully something great will come of it one day.  My job right now is to simply do my work, however monotonous it may seem. Keep writing.  So, I’m back on the horse and galloping off into the wild blue yonder.  Wish me luck.  By the way, you should probably get going on that thing you’ve been putting off learning/doing/creating.  Don’t let resistance beat you.  Get to work on something great.

And now for your viewing pleasure:

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Mar 31 2011 3:58 pm

    Convicted.

Leave a Reply

