Skip to content
March 31, 2011 / joelmalm

My problems with “La Migra”


I didn’t recognize the number on the caller ID, but I took the risk and answered it anyway.

“Mr. Malm, this Agent Jones, I am the director of U.S. Customs at LAX.”

I had left a complaint about the Immigration and Customs process in LAX – it’s pathetic.  Unorganized and slow.  It was embarrassing compared to the great experiences I had in Asia with checking into other countries.  It was harder for me to get back into my own country.

The agent was far from helpful.  I told her I am an experienced traveler.  She belittled me.  I told her I was just calling to help them improve their system a bit (I have never had a problem with the operation in other airports).  She told me I had forgotten about 9/11.  All I was really looking for is, “Thanks for letting me know Mr. Malm, I’ll look into it.”  Instead I got attacked.

Got me thinking about how often I become defensive when people genuinely want to help me because they love me.
Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses. (Proverbs 27:6)

A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. (Proverbs 15:1)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David Buffaloe / Mar 31 2011 8:32 am

    I’m not surprised. We have allowed a Gestapo to rule our airports, and it’s only going to get worst. Thankfully the Lord looks after us, if we have trusted in Him

  2. Joy Felix / Mar 31 2011 9:31 am

    Haha – yeah. You can get spoiled by Asia very quickly. What were you going to suggest btw?

Leave a Reply

