Skip to content
April 12, 2011 / joelmalm

Wish you would step off of that ledge my friend.


Here are two things I’ve learned about making big, life-changing decisions:

  1. You’ll never be more than 80% sure on anything.  I actually decide to jump when I’m at 60%.  I’m still here (with only minor cuts and bruises) so it has worked so far.
  2. God doesn’t move until you take the first step.  Sure, he’ll give you some confirmations and you should always listen to wise counsel (especially your wife).  But I have never had an instance where God laid everything out beforehand.  There is always uncertainty.

Very little of any value comes about without someone taking some major risks.  Pray, seek counsel and write Psalm 37:5 on a card (along with emergency contact info) to stick in your pocket – then take the leap.

Psalm 37:5

Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will act.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jonathan Malm / Apr 12 2011 9:11 am

    Does this mean you’re going to start buying lottery tickets? 😀

    • joelmalm / Apr 12 2011 9:28 am

      I prefer to think of it as investing….

  2. Kassie / Apr 12 2011 11:58 am

    Wow, this was very motivating this morning especially looking around our empty house. The thought of “what in the world are we doing?” came into my head and then the Isaiah 61 popped into my head and I thought ok, this is good, this is right. It just goes against what my head says sometimes. Thanks for keeping it real and short too, it’s easy to read your blogs because they are not so time consuming. Thanks! Oh hey, we will be in Guate May 5th – 18th for our exploratory trip. We will be in Corpus around the first of May. Can you help us out with some contacts in Guate? We have made some already but the more the better right? thx

  3. Gunter / May 15 2011 4:41 pm

    I have struggled with this idea of trust on a life-altering level since high school. Very encouraging to read someone who has jumped. I feel I am at the ledge.

Leave a Reply

