Skip to content
May 4, 2011 / joelmalm

Weak Arms and Bad Manners


Event 1: I strike up a conversation with a ripped dude at the gym.  His biceps are the size of my thigh.  He tells me I am pumping weights too fast.  I need to be more deliberate and slow it down.  He says it’ll make me stronger.

Event 2: I call a friend in Guatemala and get straight to business.  “Hello Arturo, I need to know…”  He stops me and begins asking how I’ve been.  How’s the family?  Where am I living?  I’ve only been back in the U.S. 7 months and I’ve already forgotten my Latin American manners.  The subtle message he sent:  Slow down the conversation Joél.

It seems that the recurring theme for me over the past few days has been – slow down.  So, I am evaluating everything I am doing and trying to see if I can do it slower.

I have noticed something – I feel calmer.  It’s amazing how just slowing down can make life more enjoyable.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. joe stewart / May 4 2011 1:26 pm

    Good word of advice there buddy.
    -joe

  2. Jonathan Malm / May 4 2011 2:05 pm

    Good thoughts. I think we all need to slow down a bit…

Leave a Reply

