Skip to content
May 23, 2011 / joelmalm

Tips for Getting Fit

Here are three things I’ve learned about getting into shape:

  1. Regardless of how hard I work at the gym, I will not look fit if I don’t change my diet.  (There’s a spiritual principle in there too.  Going to church and reading your Bible won’t make you fit if you live on a steady diet of junk the rest of the week.)
  2. There are lots of people that go to the gym and goof around with weights – most of them see no success.  You can’t get ripped without pain and resistance.  We know this, but most of us don’t really want the pain it takes to get where we want to be (myself included).  So we goof around and feel a little better about ourselves because we curled some dumbbells for a few minutes. (Whose the dumbbell?)
  3. I have to force myself to go to the gym and workout.  I don’t like it Sam I Am.  But I always like the results.

You see, it’s the stuff no one sees that brings the results everyone wants.  Fit people don’t just wake up fit.  It takes the nasty D-word: DISCIPLINE.  (Thinking about it more, all of the above have a spiritual application.)

Leave a Reply

