Skip to content
August 23, 2011 / joelmalm

My Invisible Friend

This morning as I was praying this thought popped into my head:  This whole process really is absurd.

For over 25 years I’ve been having regular one-way conversations with someone I’ve never actually met face to face.  I talk and talk and talk to him, but can only point to two or three times in my life when I was certain he responded.  When I really want to hear from him most he is usually silent.  It’s when I don’t want to hear from him that he speaks.

How absurd this must appear to someone on the outside.  I have an Invisible Friend.

But here’s the crazy thing.  There have been times when God has been more real to me than anything I can taste, touch, see or feel.  But again, those times are rare.  There have been numerous occasions when I know he’s come through for me, but I can’t prove it was more than just good luck.  In fact I can’t prove anything about him.  But somehow I know he’s real.

So, I will keep praying and one day soon I believe I will actually get to lay eyes on my Invisible Friend.

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen…And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.  Hebrews 11:1,6

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Duane Rod / Aug 23 2011 12:01 pm

    There’s a huge amount of honesty in these words Joel. I agree with you 100%. Not many people care to admit they don’t “hear from God” on a daily basis; or for that matter, on an hourly basis! Thanks for your honesty, it makes us all realize we are in this together and that there are others out there that are having the same kind of walk with God as we are.

Leave a Reply

