Skip to content
September 1, 2011 / joelmalm

You Are Not a Doctor!

My dad received a letter signed Tom Jones Ph.D. ABD.  After doing some research he discovered ABD stood for “all but dissertation.”  Basically, the dude wasn’t a Ph.D. – you have to complete the whole thing to get that title. (Don’t even get me started on honorary Doctorates!)

I decided I will now be signing off all my correspondence with Joel Malm, MD ABMS.  I’m a Medical Doctor, All But Medical School.

People get their identity from the weirdest things.  We are all desperately insecure.  The most powerful, pushy businessman is insecure.  The passive, easy-going surfer is insecure.  We love titles because we can hide our insecurity behind them.

Ever thought about what you get your identity from?  Is it your education? Your family? Your spouse? Your job?

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ… (Philippians 3:8-9)

Find your identity in Christ.  When we stand before God that’s the only title that will be worth anything.

Sincerely,

Joel Malm, Child of God.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jonathan Malm / Jan 25 2011 10:42 am

    Great post. I think I’ll start going by President Jonathan Malm, ABE (all but election).

  2. Jonathan Russell / Jan 25 2011 10:55 am

    Good stuff. Reminds me of a certain senator…”I worked so hard to get that title”

  3. Charis / Jan 25 2011 12:48 pm

    Brilliant and insightful as usual! And I had no IDEA dad knew the author of “She’s a Lady!!” I love that song!! He’s just too kool for skool!

  4. Sarah / Feb 10 2011 3:12 pm

    That’s hysterical!

Trackbacks

  1. Fighting the Frühjahrsmüdigkeit « Joél Malm

Leave a Reply

