Skip to content
September 6, 2011 / joelmalm

Homeless Guys Have All the Answers


I have yet to meet a homeless man who doesn’t have life figured out.  Somehow these street prophets have been gifted with arcane knowledge the rest of us don’t have.  They know exactly what’s wrong with the world and who is at fault.

It’s all the Mexicans stealing jobs.  It’s all the Jews running Hollywood.  The homeless men I’ve met have a deep sense of clarity about the challenges that obfuscate life for the common man.

I remember in counseling school we learned that one of the surest signs that someone is a bit cookoo (that’s the clinical term) is that they have an overwhelming sense of clarity.

So I’m thinking, maybe life not being as clear-cut and simple as I want it to be is just the way God wants it.  If it were too clear I wouldn’t need the Holy Spirit to guide me through this complicated mess of a world.

Someone once asked Mother Teresa to pray that he would have clarity.  MT locked eyes with the man and said the following: “I will not do that… Clarity is the last thing you are clinging to and must let go of.”

The man commented that she always seemed to have clarity. She laughed and said: “I have never had clarity; what I have always had is trust. So I will pray that you trust God.”

God doesn’t want us to have all the answers.  God wants us to trust him.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.
  (Proverbs 3:5-6)

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Josiah Hill / Sep 22 2011 12:32 pm

    Right on! I Corinthians 8:2 frequently bounces into my head when someone (or myself) seems to have all the answers. “If anyone supposes that he knows anything, he has not yet known as he ought to know;”

Leave a Reply

