Skip to content
October 6, 2011 / joelmalm

Is Buying Insurance a Slap in God’s Face?

I don’t like insurance because you are essentially betting against God’s favor on your life.  I hate to sound overly spiritual and I’m not a lunatic that says don’t go to the doctor when you are sick or don’t take medication.

I’ve just seen God be so generous and faithful in my life that I feel like buying insurance is kind of like saying, “God, I know you’ll care for me – but just in case.”

Proverbs 22:3 says, “The prudent see danger and take refuge, but the simple keep going and pay the penalty.”  I’m not sure if that’s talking about insurance or not, but Solomon does encourage being wise about the future.

You’ll never be able to insure you are protected against every possible calamity that may befall you.  So you need to find a holy balance.  Be wise, but make sure that your ultimate source of security is God – not your job, your wealth or your insurance company.

Psalm 121:1-3
I lift up my eyes to the hills.
From where does my help come?
My help comes from the LORD,
who made heaven and earth.
He will not let your foot be moved;
he who keeps you will not slumber.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Oct 8 2011 6:42 am

    Glad to hear more thoughts on this outside of my head…

Leave a Reply

