Skip to content
November 1, 2011 / joelmalm

12 Again, Again

I had to go to a middle school yesterday.  I really didn’t want to, but the school’s library was the only one in town that had the book I was looking for.  Pulling up on my scooter I saw two kids kissing in the parking lot, a group of big kids making fun of a smaller boy and a huddle of girls laughing as a nerdy kid with a Spider-Man backpack walked by.  I actually started getting nervous that they were going to make fun of my scooter.

It reminded me how much I hated middle school.

Always worried about having the coolest clothes.
Always striving to be accepted by the in-crowd.
Embarrassed to be seen in that dinged-up old car (dad’s Datsun truck was the worst!).
Obsessed with your appearance.
Wishing you lived in a bigger house with a pool so your friends would be impressed and think you are cool….

Silly kids.  One day we’ll.. er… I mean, they’ll grow up.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Duane Rod / Nov 1 2011 6:32 pm

    It’s nice to know I wasn’t the only one who felt that way!! Love your honesty Joel; it’s really refreshing in this world of “that’s how I roll”….

  2. Orlando Barrera / Nov 6 2011 11:32 pm

    true that brotha same around here even the truck thing

  3. mike brown / Nov 9 2011 11:04 am

    thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

