Skip to content
November 3, 2011 / joelmalm

I’ll Never Understand My Wife

I lose interest in most things pretty quickly, but there are three things that never lose their intrigue for me: my wife, travel and music.

I was trying to figure out why that is and I decided it’s because all three of them share the same traits:

  1. They are infinitely complex.  I will never understand everything that makes up my wife’s thoughts and emotions, or the many facets of the cultures around the globe, or the unlimited possibilities that music offers.
  2. They are infinitely diverse.  My wife always manages to surprise me.  Every country and culture around the globe that I visit offers something new, even within countries there are differences.  Music can be made of limitless combinations of sounds and rhythms.
  3. I will never be able to wrap my mind around every facet of the three.  I’ll spend my life learning more about my wife, the world and music – but I’ll never understand them fully.

All those traits up there can also be used to describe God.  But what’s interesting is that most of the time I get frustrated with God for being all those things.

He’s complex when he brings down crushing wrath on some folks and mercy on others that don’t deserve.  He’s diverse and creative- I can rarely predict his next move.  I’ll spend my life trying to figure him out – but never will.

I am going to start to work on enjoying those things about him just like I enjoy my wife, travel and music.

Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways!  “For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?” (Romans 11:33)

Leave a Reply

