Skip to content
December 12, 2011 / joelmalm

The Cure for Sleepless Nights

Much of the time when I think I need to hear God speak to me, what I really need is to simply remember.  When sleep eludes me and my mind is racing in the early morning hours I need to look back – not forward.

I need to:

Remember the last thing He told me – God will make it clear when it’s time for change.  In the meantime I need to stick with the last thing he told me.  (Sometimes I need to do the last thing he told me.  He won’t give further instructions until I’ve obeyed the first set.)

Remember His goodness – God has never been bad to me.  Never.  Even when I think he’s letting the hammer fall I can always look back and see the good he’s made of the chaos.  I have to remember that he cares more about me than I do.  I’m self-destructive – he loves to give me abundant life.

On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. (Psalm 63:6)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jana Malm / Dec 12 2011 8:56 am

    Very insightful and wise, Joel!

  2. Stacy Sublett / Dec 12 2011 11:42 am

    That’s a good word, Joel! Timely, too, for me.

Leave a Reply

