Skip to content
January 17, 2012 / joelmalm

On Failed Resolutions and Ultimate Victory

It only took me sixteen days to fumble on one of my New Year’s resolutions.  I was supposed to blog yesterday – but I didn’t.  We went to San Antonio to visit some friends who are in from Africa.  Excuses, excuses.

On the drive home I was rebuking myself and my first instinct was to say:  You can’t blog every Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  Just do it when you can.

I’m guessing that all of us are prone to that kind of response.  We set out to stop a bad habit, change our diet or get some spiritual discipline then we mess up early on and decide to just throw the whole plan out the window.  I eat the piece of pizza then decide since the diet is blown I might as well eat cake and ice cream too.  Please tell me I’m not alone on this…

It’s Tuesday.  I’m blogging.  I refuse to give up on this resolution just because I slipped up once.  The lies in my head won’t win.  I haven’t lost until I quit.  I raise my fist in the air and waive it violently.  “Take that sucker!  I’m still in the fight and you are going down!”

Don’t throw it all away because you slip up.  Press on.  You can do this.

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.  Philippians 4:13

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. worship2012 / Jan 17 2012 10:31 pm

    Very Inspiring bro!!!! Thnks Joel!!!! I can relate….

  2. Duane Rod / Jan 18 2012 11:41 am

    Like you said, you can’t lose if you don’t quit. You’re definitely not alone in this one; I would venture to say at least 95% of the population can relate to this.

  3. Alison / Jan 18 2012 12:28 pm

    Progress, not perfection is what I always say:) keep on keepin on!!!!

Leave a Reply

