Skip to content
February 6, 2012 / joelmalm

The Fear Vaccination

Yesterday when I dropped my wife off at the airport it was dark, rainy and windy.  As I pulled away from the terminal a shot of fear flashed through my mind.  What if I never see her again?  What if the plane crashes in this weather?

I started quoting 2 Timothy 1:7 to myself:  “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

On the on-ramp to the waterlogged freeway it hit me that this verse is a shot in the arm to get you through all kinds of fear:

Power– There are times when you have to actually do something in spite of your fear.  At that point God’s Spirit of power comes and gives you the ability to act even when you are scared out of your mind.

Love – If you’ve been hurt before there’s a good chance you are afraid to love again.  It takes God’s Spirit to give you the resolve to love again.

Sound Mind – This is what I needed yesterday: a sound mind.  There are times when you have no control over the situation.  I wasn’t flying that plane.  I can’t control the weather.  I can control the thoughts in my mind through God’s Spirit.

That verse up there is a vaccination against nearly any strain of fear you might face.  Whatever you fear today start quoting that verse and see if you just don’t find yourself immune to things that used to leave you terrified.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. worship2012 / Feb 6 2012 9:46 am

    Very True Bro!!!! Fear is all in the mind… Sometimes we hve no control… I once heard someone say… To Love Unconditonally… We must 4give… To 4give.. is to Let Go… Let God… As Humans… we want to call the shots! It does not wrk that way… You Rock Bro!!!!

  2. Nichole / Feb 10 2012 10:01 pm

    Love this post. This is a verse I need to keep handy! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

