Skip to content
February 27, 2012 / joelmalm

Legalistic People and Grumpy Flight Attendants

Yesterday morning I was recounting some horror stories of growing up as a pastor’s kid.  I told about a lady who yelled at me for running in church because it “grieved the Holy Spirit.”  Another person rebuked me at the tender age of eight for bumping into her child.  She grunted angrily at me, “And you are a pastor’s kid!”

Yesterday evening I ran into a grumpy Southwest Airlines flight attendant.  That’s rare.  My first thought was, “Boy this lady is working for the wrong airline.  She doesn’t fit in here.”  Then I went on my merry way.

I still love Southwest Airlines.  I still love the church.  You see I’m pretty convinced it’s not the majority of the people in the church who are legalistic and grumpy, it’s just a few.  Unfortunately those are the ones that stand out.

I think it’s really tragic that some people give up on the church because they ran into a few bad apples.  That lady who told me I was grieving the Holy Spirit was just some lady – she didn’t represent the whole operation.  She had issues.  What better place to work out those issues than at church.  But she does not represent the whole of what the church of Jesus is about no matter how much she grunts and shouts.

If you run into a jerk at church just brush it off –  I guarantee you that person doesn’t represent the church.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. worship2012 / Feb 27 2012 2:30 pm

    Very True Bro!

Leave a Reply

