Skip to content
March 7, 2012 / joelmalm

Flowers You Didn’t Plant

The house we moved into last fall had been vacant during nine months of drought.  The yard was dead and there were only a few little plants barely hanging on for life.

I immediately began a vigorous hydration campaign for my moribund yard.  I watered it nearly every day.  I imagine the neighbors thought I was crazy for watering dirt.  I kept watering even though nothing really started growing.

And then the rains came.

My yard is exploding with flowers and greenery (pics above).  It’s stuff I never would have guessed was even there.

It’s just like God to do that.  When we are faithful to water what he gave us – no matter how dead it may seem – he’ll eventually bring the rain and you’ll start seeing beauty in your yard that you never even imagined was there.

If you are in a spiritual drought – keep watering.  Read your Bible.  Pray.  Serve others.  One day you’ll wake up to the gentle rumble of thunder and the welcome patter of raindrops.  Beautiful stuff will start to spring up that you never even thought could be there.  You may even see some flowers you didn’t plant.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kassc / Mar 7 2012 9:02 am

    I can always count on you to teach me new words. There were times I thought my dreams were moribund, only to find them resurrected in God’s perfect timing.

  2. Raquel B / Mar 7 2012 3:13 pm

    Beautiful Joel! Very encouraging & love the imagery. Thanks for sharing this. =) -Raquel

Leave a Reply

