Skip to content
March 9, 2012 / joelmalm

Singing in the Wrong Key (Like Me)

I think the two most important things to remember when you are leading worship are:

  1. Have fun – For some reason lots of worship leaders take themselves really seriously.  They take the fun out of the whole thing.  Practice is miserable for them and the whole team.  Sunday morning are tense.  One worship leader told me once that he was so important because every Sunday he, “ushered in the Holy Spirit.”  I remember thinking.  Seriously dude?  Who do you think you are?
  2. Worship – I think sometimes leaders get too caught up in making sure we do everything just right.  Every note. Every beat. Every word.  I mess up a lot when leading worship.  Last Sunday I even started singing in the wrong key.  I laughed at myself.  But it didn’t distract me from worshipping.

As I write this I am realizing those two things are important for just about anyone.

Have fun.  Chill out.  Don’t take yourself too seriously.  You aren’t that important in the grand scheme.

And worship.  Do everything you do for God’s glory.  Whether that’s flipping burgers, flipping houses or flipping contracts – make everything you do an act of worship to God.  If you do your best to do it all for God’s glory you realize that even when you sing in the wrong key for a minute you were trying your best.  Laugh at yourself and let it go.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kassc / Mar 9 2012 11:37 am

    Love it!

  2. worship2012 / Mar 9 2012 7:41 pm

    U Rock My Friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

