Skip to content
March 12, 2012 / joelmalm

That One Verse About Big Dreams

I’ve been trying to find that one Bible verse where God tells us to dream big.  To come up with really awesome ideas and then ask for his help to make them happen.  Did Jesus say it or was that Paul?  I can’t seem to find it.

It was Abraham’s dream to produce an entire nation right?  Didn’t Joseph figure out how to get himself sold into slavery so he could eventually deliver his family from famine?  The idea to march the children of Israel out of Egypt – wasn’t that Moses’ brainchild?  David was the one who convinced Samuel to anoint him as future king, right?

I read lots of books today that basically tell me to have big hopes and ambitions.  They tell me God likes that stuff and is annoyed when we don’t have ginormous vision.  I do have some big dreams, but in many ways those dreams feel more like a burden.  They are a heavy calling to do something God placed in my heart – like writing.

In high school I did the Experiencing God Bible study.  The main thing I got from the book is this:  God is at work.  Find out what he is doing and get on board.  That seems to fly in the face of most of the books I read today.  But all the stories of the guys in paragraph two seem to fit that formula.  Maybe the key to living the way God wants isn’t to have big dreams, but instead to be obedient to what God asks of us.  Let him do the dreaming.  You and I just need to obey.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kassc / Mar 12 2012 8:45 am

    That’s so true! Well said Joel.

  2. Bob / Mar 12 2012 10:14 am

    Good post. It depends on where the “dream” starts — if it’s God’s dream, then I need to get on board; if it’s my dream, then….

    • joelmalm / Mar 13 2012 11:23 am

      Amen!

  3. Duane / Mar 17 2012 5:38 am

    Totally agree!

Leave a Reply

