Skip to content
March 21, 2012 / joelmalm

Things I Want to Forget Sometimes

“People need reminding more than instruction.” –C.S. Lewis

Here are a few things I have to constantly remind myself:

God uses people to get things done – There are times when people drive me crazy, but God delights in using those people.  As much as I want to pull away from people I have to remember that it’s in community that God makes us who he wants us to be.

Think long-term – I can get nearly anything I want in this world right now.  I always have to remind myself to think down the road.  What is this going to cost me later?  Is the seemingly small decision I am making right now setting me up for success down the road?

Never stop improving – It’s really easy to get to a place where you subconsciously decide, I like where I am, I think I’ll stay here.  I’m only thirty-four but I already find myself getting stuck in my ways in certain areas.  It’s annoying and painful to be flexible – but growth requires flexibility.  I have to keep pushing myself; sharpening my ax to be an effective tool for God.  I keep learning languages.  Learn new skills.  Learn how to use Twitter, even though I still don’t see the point of it.

I will never know it all – There are some things that we’ll never understand this side of the space-time continuum.  I have to make sure I don’t let what I can’t understand ruin what I can enjoy.  It will all come clear when we see Jesus.  Until then I have to keep on trucking and trust He’s at work.  Because He is.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jana Malm / Mar 21 2012 10:08 am

    Good!!!!! Such wisdom in your 34 years. Love you, son.

  2. Duane Rod / Mar 21 2012 6:04 pm

    Amen brother!

Leave a Reply

