Skip to content
March 26, 2012 / joelmalm

Pieces From The Shipwreck

The worst moment for the atheist is when he is really thankful and has no one to thank.  –G. K. Chesterton

I had one of those thankful moments yesterday at church.  I was playing my guitar, doing my best to sing and I just had to stop.  Poof!  A moment of transcendence.  I managed to hold back the tears.  It was a peek at another world that I always imagine but have never completely experienced.   One of those “moments of pleasure [that] are the remnants washed ashore from a shipwreck, bits of Paradise extended through time.” (Chesterton)

I know that sounds really dreamy and mushy, but I bet you’ve had one of those moments.  Standing at the foot of a mountain.  Watching a sunset.  Looking at a newborn baby.

Here’s what really hit me about that experience yesterday.  I’ve been kind of depressed lately, but that moment reminded me of everything that was good – of God’s goodness.  It served to remind me that the ultimate cure for depression is gratitude.  I don’t think it’s possible to be truly grateful and stay depressed.

Selah.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jana Malm / Mar 26 2012 8:33 pm

    Yes, Joel!!! How true! How did it take so long for me to see it?

Leave a Reply

