Skip to content
March 30, 2012 / joelmalm

Before You Kick the Bucket


About eight years ago I started making a list of things I wanted to do before I die.  I have a travel list, a personal goals list and a spiritual goals list.  All three lists are growing, but yesterday I was able to check off another item on the travel list.  I crossed the Bixby Creek Bridge near Big Sur, California.

It may seem self-centered to have a list of goals, but I really do believe Psalm 37:4 when it says, “Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

I often wonder if the reason some folks don’t realize all the cool stuff God is doing around them is because they haven’t made specific requests.  Requests like being able to cross a bridge in California.

I’d encourage you to write down some things you’d like to do before you kick the bucket, then start looking for God to open opportunities for them to happen as you focus on serving him and making him the center of your world.  The key is making sure God is at the center and not your desires.

Leave a Reply

