Skip to content
April 2, 2012 / joelmalm

Talent Ain’t Enough

What I learned at the writer’s conference I am attending:

1. I have a lot to learn
2. I need to avoid semi-colons
3. Men are outnumbered 10 to 1 at these things
4. Romance, romance, romance.  That’s what sells.  If you make it Amish Romance you are set.
5. God told everyone here to write their book (except me.)

So, I’m coming out of this conference kind of discouraged for several reasons.

I’d like to think I don’t have much more to learn.  I love semi-colons.  I’m a man in a woman’s world.  Yuck, romance. I’m not so sure God told me to write a book.

Today I had to remind myself of something.  I do feel called to writing.  But calling isn’t enough.  I have to get skills.   This is part of that process.

If you feel God has given you a passion for something don’t just count on raw talent to get you where you need to go.  It won’t.  Get some training.  Take some advice on things to avoid (like semi-colons).  Even if you are outnumbered – keep trucking.  Learn from different fields (like those crazy Amish).  You may not hear an audible voice from God telling you to do something, but if you are passionate about it and are pretty sure He put that in your heart– go after it.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joy Felix / Apr 2 2012 10:29 am

    I’ll be anxiously awaiting an Amish romance by Joel Malm, the one where the nice Amish girl runs off to Paris and witnesses a murder and ends up with the cute INTERPOL guy who turns out to be an evil spy for the LRA. It’ll be awesome!

    • joelmalm / Apr 2 2012 1:26 pm

      Joy, you may have to write that one. I’m thinking I won’t even attempt that!

  2. Jonathan Alorda / Apr 2 2012 12:14 pm

    What?! No semi-colons? I love those things! They’re super-commas! Any reason why to avoid them? I don’t like being told “no” without explanations, haha.

    Other than that, thanks for the post. As far as callings, I always think of Nehemiah; he didn’t hear a call per sé, but he was so burdened for his people, for the old city and was in a position in which he could do something about it. Callings come in different ways.

Leave a Reply

