Skip to content
April 4, 2012 / joelmalm

Inferiority is Complex

Sometimes I wonder if a day will ever come when I don’t feel inferior.  When I can just look around and say, “Ya, I’ve got it together.”

I see so many people that are like that and I wonder how they do it.

I get tired of feeling not as good as other people.  I’d be content to be really good at just one thing.

But here’s the deal.  I’ve worked with people long enough to know something.

Everyone is insecure.

Paul Tornier says people cover insecurity in one of two ways.  Strong responders try to bowl everyone over so no one can see just how insecure they are.   Some of the people that seem to have it together most are really the most insecure.

Weak responders let everyone walk all over them.  I’m sure you know people like that.

We all tend to respond in each of those ways at different times.  That’s what makes inferiority complex.

As much as I hate the feeling, I can’t help but think that a healthy bit of inferiority is a good thing.  It keeps me humble and reminds me there’s always more to learn.  The key is being honest with myself.

For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned. Romans 12:13

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LJLocke / Apr 4 2012 9:59 am

    Good word, Joel.

  2. Duane Rod / Apr 4 2012 6:07 pm

    Tell it like it is. Oh to be rid of this flesh! In a worldly view there is always someone better than us… but in Christ, now that’s a different story!!

Leave a Reply

