Skip to content
April 9, 2012 / joelmalm

Stealing My Friend’s Jacket

During one of the most challenging days in my life a man I barely knew approached me and started preaching to me about victory.  He rebuked me for not being more cheerful.  “Jesus won the victory, you shouldn’t be upset!”

That man is an idiot.  God bless his heart. (That’s what you put at the end of a negative statement to make it more palatable. :))

Like one who takes away a garment on a cold day, or like vinegar poured on soda, is one who sings songs to a heavy heart. (Proverbs 25:20)

It’s hard to swallow theology when you are suffering, because you can’t hear anything but pain.  The substitutionary atonement and justification don’t really comfort when you are deeply wounded.

I’ve been that idiot who takes away my friend’s jacket in sub-zero temperatures. When people are suffering I have to constantly remind myself to just shut up.  Just be present and stop trying to be Tony Robbins.  A time will come for that.  But the best salve for the suffering is often your silence.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carrie / Apr 9 2012 8:31 am

    lol, we both wrote about friends and suffering today, from different angles http://www.facebook.com/carrieallie/posts/10151491147555722?notif_t=like

  2. Christy Hoss / Apr 10 2012 5:41 pm

    Great reminder! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

