Skip to content
April 20, 2012 / joelmalm

The World’s Most Profound Hiking Tip

When I was hiking the Inca Trail a friend of mine said something that changed my life.  The trail is 25 miles of intense hiking at altitudes above 12,000ft.  We looked back over the trail after a particularly grueling section and in passing my friend said, “It’s amazing what you can get accomplished if you just put one foot in front of the other.”

It wasn’t a new revelation.  I had just never heard it put that way before.  I thought about it for days after that and considered the implications.

I can be the world’s best husband if I take it one day at a time.  Be the best I can be – every day.

I can write a book.  One word after another.  Do that day after day and you’d be amazed how much you can get written.

I can get through any challenge.  One step at a time.  I just have to keep marching and looking ahead.

Whatever trail God has you on, I can guarantee you that it has a destination.  Keep watching Him and putting one foot in front of the other.  You’ll be amazed how far you can get if you just hold on and keep hiking.

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. cevargas / Apr 20 2012 10:21 am

    that speaks volume to me right now. thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

