Skip to content
April 27, 2012 / joelmalm

Thanks God, This Really Stinks!

Have you ever prayed something like this?

“Dear God, I just want your will.  Please open the doors that I’m supposed to walk through and close the ones I’m not.”

I pray like that a lot.  But I realized something recently.  When God actually closes a door I don’t usually like it.  I feel all rejected and downtrodden.  I start thinking negatively.  I guess they didn’t want me. I’m not good enough.  Maybe my best days are behind me. 

That leads to me praying like this:  “Thanks a lot God, this really stinks!”

So I have to remind myself that if I really want God’s will I need to learn to accept the open doors and the closed ones as an answer to prayer.  I need to thank him for truly leading me – and making things really clear.

…give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.  1 Thess. 5:18

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Duane Rod / Apr 27 2012 9:03 am

    Joel, I know what you’re going through and it isn’t fun, but you’ll look back on this time days, weeks and months from now and the picture will be perfectly clear. Then you’ll say, “Wow God, thanks for doing what was best for me and not doing what I though was best for me”.

  2. Jana Malm / Apr 27 2012 2:58 pm

    Super!!!!!!!! Great! That’s my son!!!

  3. M Graham / Apr 27 2012 6:32 pm

    Very true, Joel. I have come to realized my plans for my life are seldom what God has in store and mostly I do not realize it is his plan until well past the disappointment, pain, and anger.

  4. Beverly / Apr 27 2012 7:15 pm

    Joel….when hurricane Ike hit the Gulf Coast, it destroyed many homes and businesses. One of the buildings destroyed was our church building. Completely gone. Couldn’t understand why God allows that to happen until after some time had passed. In two years time, we’d baptized 23 people who would never had known Christ otherwise. Ike was the reason that brought these people to Christ. They were all settled in a life that surely would have lead them to hell but destruction lead them to Christ. Because of a catastrophic event, the church has grown in number and in approximately one month, we will be meeting in a brand new building which our Lord has provided. Don’t you know the angels will be rejoicing while the Evil One will be plotting?! Glory to God…his grace is sufficient!

  5. Scott St. Onge / May 17 2012 5:40 am

    Thank you for opening up and showing us a truth, Joel.

Leave a Reply

