Skip to content
May 4, 2012 / joelmalm

Stupid Stuff I Say

I’ve nearly recovered from a phone conversation I had on Monday with a retired pastor.  That man of faith nearly drove me to give up – on everything.  I’m not exactly sure what he was trying to accomplish, but that was the result.  I found myself thinking about that conversation all week.  Ever had one of those conversations?

Then yesterday I was talking to someone who has written a great book.  She asked me to look it over.  I was trying to encourage her, but for some reason everything that came out of my mouth sounded discouraging.  I was saying stupid stuff.  I had to write to her and apologize.

It made me realize something.  That pastor who was discouraging me was just saying stupid stuff.  He probably thought he was encouraging me.  It just didn’t come out right.  How tragic would it have been for me to give up because of one conversation with him.

I imagine lots of people give up on all sorts of things everyday because they have a conversation with someone who says stupid stuff.  I have to remind myself that there is only one opinion that matters – God’s opinion.  We need to listen to advisors, but they are only human and sometimes they are going to be more discouraging than encouraging.  Hold on to what you know God has called you to do and keep pressing on.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Romeo Estuardo Guerra / May 4 2012 9:09 am

    There are always gonna be people that want us to give up!! Our God is Never going to tell us to give up! We just got to recognize the spirit of the voice that is talking to us!! You are right “stupid stuff”.

    • joelmalm / May 4 2012 12:19 pm

      Preach it Romeo!

  2. Gail / May 4 2012 11:50 am

    I can’t tell you how many ideas, plans, etc I have given up or worse fed my self talk with “stupid stuff” people say. I am learning to not ask others their opinions which many times just brings chaos and steals my peace. I stop moving forward just keep going or start a new circle.

    I recently ran across this scripture and it is still rolling around in my head…Dueteronomy 3:9 “You have circled this mountain long enough. Now turn north”

    So when I find myself rehashing the stupid stuff people say which i feel confused I just tell myself Turn North!

    • joelmalm / May 4 2012 12:18 pm

      I like that verse!!!

  3. Duane / May 5 2012 7:02 am

    Life with God is NEVER boring!!

Leave a Reply

